

Election Commission Meeting Minutes - Draft

Commissioners: CJ Garbo William Huddy Christopher Pratt Sherry Viani

Wednesday, August 21, 2019

5:30 PM

Town Hall 100 N. Wilcox Street Castle Rock, CO 80104

This meeting is open to the public. One or more Council members may also attend this meeting, during which the items listed herein will be discussed

CALL TO ORDER

ROLL CALL

Present 3 - Commissioner CJ Garbo, Commissioner Christopher Pratt, and Commissioner William

Huddy

Not Present 1 - Commissioner Sherry Viani

INTRODUCTIONS

EC 2019-001 Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Moved by Pratt, seconded by Huddy to elect CJ Garbo as Chair. The motion passed

by a vote of:

Yes: 3 - Commissioner Garbo, Commissioner Pratt, and Commissioner Huddy

Not Present: 1 - Commissioner Viani

Moved by Pratt, seconded by Garbo to elect William Huddy as Vice Chair. The

motion passed by a vote of:

Yes: 3 - Commissioner Garbo, Commissioner Pratt, and Commissioner Huddy

Not Present: 1 - Commissioner Viani

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

EC 2019-002 Minutes: July 26, 2019 Election Commission Meeting

Moved by Pratt, seconded by Huddy to Approve the Minutes. The motion passed by

a vote of:

Yes: 3 - Commissioner Garbo, Commissioner Pratt, and Commissioner Huddy

Not Present: 1 - Commissioner Viani

UPDATES

EC 2019-003 New Election Commission Member Terms

Lisa Anderson, Town Clerk, relayed that Commissioner Garbo and herself held

interviews for the Election Commission and recommended Council appoint Christopher Pratt and William Huddy to three year terms ending on May 31, 2022 and Sherry Viani with a term ending on May 31, 2021. The terms were decided by lot

EC 2019-004

Next Steps

The Commission was provided with a notebook that contained documents for their reference and review: Election Commission Meeting Procedures, Town Code on Boards and Commissions, Boards and Commissions Manual, Town Charter on Elections, Town Code on Elections, Town Charter on Initiative, Referendum, and Recall, Election Commission Regulations, CRS Title 31 on Municipal Elections. Lisa Anderson, Town Clerk, stated that the Election Commission does not have any responsibilities until the 2021 Redistricting.

Moved by Pratt, seconded by Huddy for the Election Commission to review all Election Commission Regulations and the Town Code and Charter related to elections and make recommendations for any revisions. The motion passed by a vote of:

Yes: 3 - Commissioner Garbo, Commissioner Pratt, and Commissioner Huddy

Not Present: 1 - Commissioner Viani

NEXT MEETING

EC 2019-005

Next Meeting

Moved by Pratt, seconded by Huddy to schedule the next meeting on September 30, 2019 at 5:30 pm in Council Chambers. The motion passed by a vote of:

Yes: 3 - Commissioner Garbo, Commissioner Pratt, and Commissioner Huddy

Not Present: 1 - Commissioner Viani

OTHER BUSINESS

None.

ADJOURN

Moved by Pratt, seconded by Huddy to Adjourn. The motion passed by a vote of:

Yes: 3 - Commissioner Garbo, Commissioner Pratt, and Commissioner Huddy

Not Present: 1 - Commissioner Viani

Meeting adjourned at 6:20 pm.

Submitted by:

Lisa Anderson, Town Clerk