RESOLUTION NO. 2022-

A RESOLUTION REDEFINING MEMBERSHIP OF THE PARKS AND RECREATION COMMISSION

- **WHEREAS**, the Parks and Recreation Commission (the "Commission") of the Town of Castle Rock, Colorado (the "Town") was established by Resolution No. 1989-04; and
- **WHEREAS**, Resolution No. 1989-04 was repealed and reenacted and a new charter for the Commission was adopted by Resolution No. 2002-30, which charter was subsequently amended by Resolution No. 2002-149; and
- **WHEREAS**, in 2005, the Town Council adopted Resolution No. 2005-38, which Resolution states that one of the seven members of the Commission shall be a member from the Teen Advisory Group; and
- **WHEREAS**, Town staff recommends removal of the Teen Advisory Group member from the Commission as, historically, it has proved challenging to find a student representative who is available to serve on the Commission; and
- **WHEREAS**, such a change in membership may be effected by Town Council through the adoption of a resolution amending Resolution No. 2005-38; and
- **WHEREAS**, following approval of this Resolution by the Town Council, the Commission intends to vote to approve an amendment to its Bylaws reflecting the change to its organizational structure.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE TOWN COUNCIL OF THE TOWN OF CASTLE ROCK, COLORADO AS FOLLOWS:

Section 1. Charter Amendment. The Charter of the Parks and Recreation Commission adopted by Resolution No. 2002-30 and amended by Resolution Nos. 2002-149 and 2005-38 is hereby amended by amending Section C, Membership, to read in its entirety as follows:

C. Membership.

The Commission shall consist of seven members appointed by the Town Council. All members of the Commission shall serve without salary, but may be entitled to reasonable reimbursement expense when necessary.

PASSED, APPROVED AND ADOPTED this 7th day of June, 2022 by the Town Council of the Town of Castle Rock, Colorado, on first and final reading, by a vote of ____ for and ____ against.

ATTEST:	TOWN OF CASTLE ROCK
Lisa Anderson, Town Clerk	Jason Gray, Mayor
Approved as to form:	Approved as to content:
Michael J. Hyman, Town Attorney	Jeff Brauer, Director of Parks and Recreation