RESOLUTION 2022-

RESOLUTION APPOINTING DIRECTORS TO THE BOARDS OF DIRECTORS OF DAWSON RIDGE METROPOLITAN DISTRICT NOS. 1 AND 5

- **WHEREAS**, Dawson Ridge Metropolitan District Nos. 1 and 5 (each a "District" and collectively, the "Districts") are statutory special districts located wholly within the boundaries of the Town of Castle Rock; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Districts operate pursuant to the Districts' service plan, including the provision of services and facilities related to water, sewer, storm drainage, and streets; and
- **WHEREAS**, the boards of directors for the Districts are entirely vacant and the Districts are unable to take any formal action, which has resulted in the interruption of services provided by the Districts; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Town Council is authorized to appoint individuals to a district's board of directors if the district's board of directors is entirely vacant and the failure to appoint a new board will result in the interruption of services that are provided by the district, pursuant to § 32-1-109(2.5), C.R.S.; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Town Council has received requests for appointment to the Districts' boards of directors from qualified individuals within the Districts; namely, Andrew Klein, Lawrence P. Jacobson, and Jeffrey Jacob Schroeder ("Proposed Directors"); and
- **WHEREAS**, the Town Council finds that appointment of the Proposed Directors will facilitate the Districts' compliance with local government laws, and allow the Districts to resume services as contemplated by the Districts' service plan.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE TOWN COUNCIL OF THE TOWN OF CASTLE ROCK, COLORADO AS FOLLOWS:

- **Section 1.** Necessity of Appointment. The Town Council determines that failure to appoint qualified individuals to the board of directors for the Districts will result in the continued interruption of District services and the continued District noncompliance with certain state laws pertaining to local governments.
- **Section 2. Appointment of Directors**. Pursuant to § 32-1-905(2.5), C.R.S., the Town Council hereby appoints the following qualified individuals to serve as directors for the Districts for the terms stated herein:

Andrew Klein

Appointed to fill vacancy and to serve until the next election described in paragraph 3 herein for District Nos. 1 and 5.

Lawrence P. Jacobson	Appointed to fill vacancy and to serve until the next election described in paragraph 3 herein for District Nos. 1 and 5.
Jeffrey Jacob Schroeder	Appointed to fill vacancy and to serve until the next election described in paragraph 3 herein for District Nos. 1 and 5.
Section 3. <u>Election</u> . The Districts' boards of directors shall hold a special election to be held on February 7, 2023, to elect directors pursuant to the Special District Act, Article 1 of Title 32, C.R.S., the Uniform Election Code of 1992, Articles 1 to 13 of Title 1, C.R.S.; and the Colorado Local Government Election Code, Article 13.5 of Title 1, C.R.S. PASSED, APPROVED AND ADOPTED this 4th day of October, 2022, by the Town Council of the Town of Castle Rock, Colorado, on first and final reading by a vote of for and against.	
ATTEST:	TOWN OF CASTLE ROCK
Lisa Anderson, Town Clerk	Jason Gray, Mayor
Approved as to form:	Approved as to content:
Michael J. Hyman, Town Attorney	David L. Corliss, Town Manager